Welcome to the official Alberta Basketball Officials website
If you can't find what you are looking for, try the Site Map tab on the top right.

asg 2014
Alberta Summer Games

July 25-27

Deadline for submitting your application to Jake Steinbrenner is Tuesday, June 17.

Click here for more info.

Summer National and Fall International Appointments

ABOA Evaluation Chair Jake Steinbrenner has announced the ABOA Summer National and Fall International Appointments.

Click here for more info.

ABOA Annual General Meeting
April 26, 2014
Red Deer

Some results:

  • Morgan Munroe was re-elected as Provincial Interpreter
  • Josh Carothers was elected as Director at Large 
  • September 27/28 is the provincial clinic to be held on Calgary, exact location and details to follow.
  • Click here for the Evaluation Chair's Report

Rocky Mountain Officials Camp
May 16-18
Opportunity to gain 3-person experience
Click here for more info

Click here for photos from the camp

ron bercov
ABOA Life Member Ron Bercov Passes
ABOA is mourning the death of one of its Life Members,
Ron Bercov, of Edmonton on April 4. The following email was sent to members of EBOA:

"It is with a heavy heart that I must inform you of the passing of Ron Bercov , a long serving member of the EBOA. Many of you know Ron in many roles with the EBOA, most recently as a CIS/ACAC Evaluator. He had officiated at the CIAU[CIS] and ACAC level for many years prior to his on court retirement.

He served the University of Alberta for 41 years, five as Associate Vice-President (Academic) and three on the Board of Governors. He was president of the Canadian Association of University Teachers and vice-president of the Canadian Mathematics Society and editor of its bulletin. He was also chair of the Alberta Universities Pension Board. Ron Bercov is a 2004 recipient of the University of Alberta Alumni Association's Honour Award.

A university, college, high school, and wheelchair basketball official, he has refereed three national championship tournaments and four wheelchair basketball nationals. In 2002, he received the Canadian Association of Basketball Officials [CABO] Wink Willox Award for improving officiating in Alberta. Ron was also a Honorary Life Member of both the EBOA & ABOA.

Our deepest sympathies are with his wife, Marcia, and his many friends and relatives."

Leo Mangano
EBOA President

ACAC Final 8 Men's Officials

Doug Carter, Dick Vanderstam, Gil Coloumbe, Ryley Kerrison, Carl Artis Jr, Troy Eagar, Marla Van Gelder, John Irvine, Don Herman, Matt Kallio, Josh Carruthers, Charlie Bouchard
Back Row Evaluators: Terry Kindrat, Grant Stewart
Click on photo for larger view

3A Girls Provincial Officials

EBOA official Joanna Wiegers sends along the following photo of the 3A Girls Provincial Officials
3a girls
Left to right: Grant Hoe (evaluator), Rick Stoltz, Peter Kreutz, Trevor Durrie, Joanna Wiegers, Kelsey Kisilevich, Zach Doan, Sasha Eaton, Melissa Foltinek and Frankie Billingsley ( evaluator)

Joanna also sent the following photo of the officials at the Jr Wheelchair Nationals
jr nat wheelchair
Trevor Kerr (evaluator, ON), Evan Picton(AB), Ludger Blanchard (QC), Frazer Bykowski (NB), Nathalie Asselin(QC), Joanna Wiegers (AB), Kevin Bowie(BC), Jeff VanEenoo (ON), and Jonathan Smith (ON).

2014 ASAA Provincial Assignments
Congratulations to all the ABOA members who have been assigned to the 2014 ASAA Provincial Championships.
Click here to see a list of these officials.

ABOA FIBA Card Officials
ABOA is proud of the accomplishments of all our members, from regular season games & tournaments in rural communities throughout Alberta, to ASAA & ACAC Provincial Championships, to the excellent performances of all our officials who leave our province to referee National Championships. We keep updated records under the 'Assignments' tab on these selections from year to year. ABOA also believes that achieving a FIBA Card, for selection to International Tournaments, is a unique and noteworthy accomplishment. We are proud of these officials who received their FIBA Cards in 2012 & 2013: Matt Kallio, Stephanie Nordlee (2012) and Ryley Kerrison (2013).
matt_kallio_2014 stephanie nordlee ryley_kerrison
They join previously selected FIBA Cards Karen Lasuik, Perry Stothart, Michael Weiland on the world stage
Contact Your Local Board
Click here for a list of all our Local Basketball Officiating Boards. You will find an email link to the board in your area.
CABO Newsletters
Click here to read the following issues of the CABO Newsletter

Mar 2014
Feb 2014
Jan 2014
Dec 2013
Nov 2013
Oct 2013

ABOA Members Insurance Policy
Click here to download a copy of the policy

Check out the January issue of the CABO Newsletter here for the top 10 toughest questions and other info on the recent CABO exam

Karen Lasuik's NEXT LEVEL OFFICIALS CAMP is back! It will be held in conjunction with Rick Stanley's, Rocky Mountain Team Camp at Edmonton's Premier, 12 Court, Saville Centre, May 2 -4.
For more info and to signup:
2013 ABOA Fall Clinic

Click here for more info on the clinicians, downloadable presentations and photos.